discuss the pros and cons of learning a foreign language

Nowadays, more and more people want to study a second language. While this trend will have a lot of benefits for your life in the future, there are still some downsides that we need to avoid.

On the one hand, knowing foreign languages will develop your thinkings. When learning a language, you not only know about the vocabulary or grammar but also the cultures, traditions of people using it. It also improves your communication skills, helps you to make more friends from all around the world. Moreover, some researches had showed that new -language-learning will increase your grey matter, intelligent, memory and so on. Besides, you can get more opportunities when being able to use more than two languages fluently. Many companies and employers now are attracted by a language degree, so you will have more job offers, business trip or travel assignments when having learnt foreign languages.

On the other hand, learning a second language has some potential problems. Firstly, you can easily be impressed by the modern of the new language and ignore your mother tounge. Sometimes, you need to use both languages to express your thinkings, but sometimes, you even forget your first language. Secondly, learning a new language costs a lot of time, money, and determination. You need to focus to decrease things that are paid for mastering languages.

In conclusion, there are many reasons for self-development, future careers to explain why we need to learn a second language, but the disadvantages regarding forgetting mother tongue or costing time, money also need to be taken into consideration.