Every day, millions of tons of food are wasted all over the world. Why do you think this is happening? And how can we solve this problem?

These days, the problem of wasting a large amount of food is happening across the world. There is a reason behind this phenomenon and an appropriate solution should be adopted by the government and citizens to improve the situation.

This issue can be explained by food that is not used up in the meal will be thrown in the trash while it is still edible instead of preserved. This is because of the cheap price of food make human tend to buy fresh ingredients without feeling the need to turn leftovers into the next meal. This is perfectly exemplified in the case of 1/3 of the food thrown away each day is leftovers from families. And the surplus supply of food is also the cause of this issue. With higher crops, food is produced more than the amount that the whole population could possibly eat. This is mainly due to the expiration of deterioration of the food and they need to be destroyed because it is no longer usable. This can be seen in the case of all the food that can not be sold out at the supermarket will be destroyed at the end of the day.

However, there are various steps that governments and citizens could take to tackle these problems. This could be carried out by campaigns to raise public awareness with the aim of changing public attitudes to food consumption. The deleterious effects of food waste on the environment should be highlighted. This raised concern of the problem would lead people to understand the seriousness of harm by throwing food products away. Governments can also adopt taxing the food industry to ameliorate this situation. Therefore, this solution may discourage people from buying or ordering more than they actually need.

In conclusion, this phenomenon can be explained by food wastage from daily life, left overs that can not be consumed. And viable step needs to be taken by government and citizens to tackle this problem.