The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the most effective solution to environmental pollution around the world is to lift the price of fuels. I can only partly agree with this view.

On the one hand, raising the cost of fuels would have a direct impact on the demand of consumers and industries. From a consumer perspective, when the price tag of fuel is less affordable, the motive to drive and use fuel-powered engines in households would be weakened, thus reducing the overall demand for fossil fuel. This would be beneficial for the environment since fuel is the major pollutant that leads to carbon dioxide released into the atmosphere. The same pattern of behavior would likely be seen in most industries where companies would race to replace fuel by cheaper types of energy to control the cost of production and profits. On the other hand, such a global issue as environmental degradation cannot be successfully dealt with by adjustment to fuel prices alone. Tougher policies should be introduced to limit the amount of CO2 released into the air. This can be done both by imposing CO2 quotas on industries and by punishing those breaking the laws severely. Besides, environment protection campaigns should be encouraged and given proper publicity to heighten the awareness of the issue. If one comprehends the seriousness of the environmental contamination, he or she will be more likely to engage in efforts of preservation.

In conclusion, raising the cost of fuel may yield positive results in fuel consumption and therefore the environment; however, more action needs to be taken to prevent the planet from being contaminated and destroyed.