Nowadays in many countries more and more people are spending their time away from their families Why is this What are the effects on themselves and on their families

Families – the building block of any societies – are coming under an unprecedented attack on all fronts. The modern, hectic lifestyle common in cities, where more than half of the entire human population dwells, is increasingly asking for greater work commitment than ever before. As a result, urban dwellers feel increasingly pressed for time – and when forced to make a choice, many of them have chosen work over family. This preference has undermined the foundation of families all around the world and brought about serious social consequences that are haunting many developed nations in the world.

The frantic and busy lifestyle, the telltale sign of a post-industrialization society, is responsible for this development. Wage workers, whose schedule is from nine to five, whose employers are fastidious about punctuality, and whose residences may be hours away from work, find themselves sinking most of their waking time working and traveling to work. In work-obsessed cultures such as that of Japan, employees readily show commitment and dedication to their company by willingly working overtime without overtime pay in order to have the slightest chance at promotion. Needless to say, these people would not find enough quality time to spend with their family.

One ought not to look further than Japan, once heralded as an economic miracle of the 20th century, to see what debilitating effects that the deterioration of families could have on society at large. Japanese parents, especially the father, who may have to work long shifts at the office, may go on days without seeing their children’s faces. The family bond is thus weakened significantly, and, as a result, people no longer value families as much as they used to. The birthrate in Japan is among the lowest in the world. Coupled with better healthcare and with it, longer lifespan, Japan has the fasting aging population in the world. Lonely deaths, the phenomenon in which geriatrics live and die by themselves, without anyone noticing for months on end, has become terrifyingly common in Japan. All of these and more could become a reality for any nations, should they choose to neglect one of the most grievous side effects of modernization: The erosion of the family unit.

In summary, the erosion of family has been underway for quite some time now, and it has already taken its toll on many societies, of which Japan is an egregious example. We need to act now to restore the once strong and inseparable bond between family members, lest a Brave New World dystopia suddenly seems far-fetched no longer.