Some people think that formal education should start for children as early as possible While others think that it should not start until 7 years of age discuss both views and give your opinion

Many people have different views as to when children should start formal education. While some argue that children should learn as soon as possible, others contend that 7 seems to be the optimal age for formal schooling. Personally, I agree with the latter.

On the one hand, there are reasonable arguments for commencing formal learning at a young age. Firstly, this helps to shorten the learning jouney of learners, leaving them more time to be better prepared for their future. If learning time were to be contracted, students would have more time in their hands to add more things to their skill set, be it computer skills or interpersonal capabilities. Moreover, it has been proved that the brain at their early years of development has the advantage of absorbing knowledge and learning new things faster than when it grow older. Therefore, the fact that a number of Vietnamese parents are eager to send their offspring to private pre-school classes can be seen as a way of taking such an advantage.

However, I believe that all formal schooling programmes should not be implemented until children reach the age of 7. From the ethical perspective, all children have the right to enjoy a childhood which is free from any pressures including financial burdens and school-related issues. In other words, their early years in life should only center around family and leisure activities as they have almost a lifetime ahead to be stressed and worried about. On top of that, early schooling has been proved ineffective due to the intricate nature of knowledge that has to be imparted to children. As a result, informal forms of teaching through music and paintings seem to be the right way to go.

In conclusion, despite the advantages in terms of time and learning speed that early schooling brings to children, I believe that formal classes should start at the age of 7.