Society is based on rules and laws If individuals were free to do whatever they want to do it could not function To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement

It is argued that rules and regulations are the bedrock of a functional society. I completely agree with this view.

On the one hand, laws and rules are one of the defining characteristics of a society, which enable it to run smoothly and guarantee interests for the masses. Since the Stone Age, the daily functioning of a wealthy and healthy tribe was closely attached to the rules implicitly agreed upon by the tribe members. Whether it was the roles of the leader or the conciliation approaches when internal conflicts arise, rules and laws are effectively the tool that ancient people based on to keep their group functional and manageable. Without these unwritten boundaries, people in authority would have likely to fail in leading their tribes as well as internal disputes would have not been avoided and resolved, thus leading to the dispersal of a group or even worse, the death of hundreds as a result of violent conflicts.

On the other hand, the roles that rules and laws play in maintaining the order of society are more noticeable in the modern world. In some Mid-European parts, where rules and laws are weakly enforced due to political instability, people are greatly suffering from the threats of being shot by terrorists. In these societies, citizens could not live a normal, fulfilling life since they are occupied by the thoughts of fleeing from disturbing areas and trying to ensure their very survival , so they do not have time for other life priorities. In fact, most children in these areas cannot afford a proper education, the weak are not provided with sufficient healthcare and the poor are barely living above the poverty line. As a consequence, the lack of law enforcement and political stability are taking a huge toll on the life of millions of people in these places.

In conclusion, rules and regulations lay the foundation of a safe, stable and functional community in which its members could live and thrive.