People have little understanding of the importance of the natural world, what are the reasons and how can people learn more about the natural world?

It is true that humans seem to be more distant from the natural world. There is a range of reasons for this, and several measures should be taken to tackle the issue.

On the one hand, technological advancements have increasingly driven people’s attention away from nature. Mobile phones and other gadgets have been introduced in people’s daily lives and seem to consume most of their free time. Therefore, when being off-work, people no longer engage with the natural world in a way that the previous generation did, and just stay indoors and spend their time on technology instead. Moreover, owing to developments in technology and the Internet, work is no longer restricted to the office space, leaving people busy even when returning home or on vacation. Therefore, leisure time has become a rarity and people have little chance to appreciate the world around them.

To improve people’s understanding of Mother Nature, parks and other green spaces should be well invested and promoted. When these natural places become more attractive, they will more likely to draw people to visit and learn more about them. Besides, parents should guide their children towards a life of more contact with nature. This could be done by arranging outings to a forest or lake rather than staying in resorts with limited contact with the outside world.

In conclusion, improvements in technology are the main culprit in keeping many people in the dark about the natural world. To resolve the situation, the government should make parks more appealing to the general public, and families should prioritize visits to the natural world over other forms of vacation.