Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they want to do, it could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

It is argued that rules and regulations are the bedrock of a functional society. I completely agree with this view.

On the one hand, society is partly defined by its laws and rules, which make it run smoothly and guarantee interests for most of its members. Since the Stone Age, the daily functioning of a healthy tribe was closely attached to what rules implicitly agreed upon by the tribe members. Whether it was the roles of the leader of the ancient group or the conciliation approach when internal conflicts arise, what is agreed beforehand, which are rules and laws, are everything that ancient people based on to keep their group functional and manageable. Without these unwritten boundaries, people in authority would have likely to fail in leading their tribe as well internal turbulences would have not been avoided, thus leading to the disperse of a group or even worse, the deaths of hundreds as a result of violent conflicts.

On the other hand, the roles that rules and laws play in maintaining the order of society are more conspicuous in the modern world. In some Mid-European parts, where rules and laws are weakly enforced due to political instability, people are greatly suffering from the threats of being shot or running into terrorist groups. In these societies, citizens could not live a normal, fulfilling life since fleeing from disturbing areas and trying to ensure their very survival are their daily concerns, so they do not have time for other priorities in life. In fact, most children in the area cannot afford a proper education, the weak are not provided with sufficient healthcare and the poor are barely surviving. Obviously, the lack of law enforcement and stability take a huge toll on the life of millions of people in these places.

In conclusion, rules and regulations are keeping our world functional so that we can live in a safer, more stable place, which is a foundation for a prosperous society.