The best way to solve world’s environmental problems is increase the cost of fuel.

Do you agree or disagree and give your own opinion?

It is argued that the most effective solution to environmental issues around the world is to lift the price of fuel. I can only partly agree with this view.

It is obvious that increasing the cost of fuel can have a direct impact on consumers’ and industries’ usage of fuel and therefore generating positive results for the environment. From a consumer perspective, the motive to drive or using fuel-powered engines in households would be weakened when the price tag of fuel is less affordable. As a consequence, they will be encouraged to search for alternative types of energy, most of which available is significantly less detrimental to the environment than the fuel itself. The same pattern of behaviors would be seen in most industries since companies want to control the cost of production and profits. In energy production spheres, changing consumer preferences for energy will lead energy manufacturers to adjust themselves to meet consumers’ needs, leaving finding and producing greener forms of energy a new trend.

However, intervention to the cost of fuel would be insufficient to tackle such a global issue as environmental degradation. The government should enact tougher rules and regulations with regard to the environment. Industries, especially heavy carbon dioxide polluters, needs to be brought under close supervision and imposed carbon dioxide quotas. By doing this, CO2 will be significantly reduced and a cleaner and safer environment on Earth will be guaranteed. Moreover, environmental protection campaigns should be encouraged and given adequate publicity to raise global public awareness of environmental preservation.

In conclusion, making adjustments to the prices of fuel is a sensible policy to alter the public’s attitudes and behaviors in fuel consumption. However, more actions need to be done to successfully deal with the problem of environmental destruction worldwide.