The best way to solve the world's environmental problem is to increase the cost of fuel. Do you agree or disagree and give your own opinion?

In response to the current environmental crisis, some argue that increasing the fuel price may be the best solution. In my opinion, this approach could backfire on our efforts to save the environment and exacerbate the volatile socio-economic situation in some regions of the world.

Increasing the cost of fuel could adversely impact the environment in the long-term. This is more likely to cause economic stagnation worldwide due to the ever-increasing cost of transportation, making the cost of food to rise and the poor more destitute. It is in this precarious context, the poor may be forced to monetize on nature as a last resort. For example, they may excessively exploit the forest resources and illegally poach wild animals, eventually leading to the loss of biodiversity as well as to a more exacerbated environmental crisis. Furthermore, economic stagnation as a result of the higher fuel price undermines the prospect of developing an alternative, environmentally-friendly energy in the future. Economic growth stagnated means almost no large investment capital poured into such projects.

Any intervention in the cost of fuel could destabilize the current socio-economic situation of the oil states. This move is more likely to retard the social process in the countries owning the large oil reserves and foster the centralization of power in a few hands, usually the rulers. The governments in the Gulf, for example, could capitalize on the increase of fuel prices to boost their oil revenues, which can be used to restrict the free press and suppress the liberal democracy. Furthermore, as the oil prices soar, the oil states may depend more heavily on oil mines, eventually causing economic stagnation. This is strikingly evident in the fact that oil export is prioritized over domestic manufacturing. Consequently, these economies are rife with government-financed businesses operating less effective and lack of companies that are more competitive, creative, and productive.

In conclusion, I do believe that increasing fuel prices could simultaneously harm the environment in the long-term and sway the balance of the current socio-economic situation in certain regions.