Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human's life. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Amid rising technological innovation, there was an ignited debate that whether it's time for historical values to come to the edge of collapse. The vast majority of people believe that it does not do to dwell on the past and forget to live while the rest protect their opinion that still historical knowledge plays an irreplaceable role in human development process. In this light, I would argue that history is an evergreen value which mankind is obligated to study.

On the one hand, it is inevitable that young generation should focus on scientific front to meet the pace of times. The whole concept of this move is to equip our descendants a comprehensive understanding in term of science to confront the deadly issues to come such as global warming, artificial intelligence, or even worse the Apocalypse, which is no longer a fictional scenario. For instance, scientific subjects have been intentionally included in university’s curriculum in several decades that resulted in the rise of new groups of scientists who play an irreplaceable role in technological enterprises like SpaceX or Tesla. These kinds of enterprise would be the realm of men to survive the darkest scenarios. It is understandable to share this view.

On the other hand, history is the decisive factor that shaped personal dignity as well as national identity. In fact, history is a mirror reflecting humans’ civilization through the course of time. Only in researching the repeating events can we truly achieve a comprehensive vision. On the personal front, digging into history means to learn from a massive reference that, for generations, has guided us through the darkness of evil things. For example, studying what drove an innocent Hitler into a wicked leader, our young generation would avoid being charmed into crimes. On the national front, or even on global scale, history is the decisive key to maintain the tradition, culture, and the moral standards of distinct groups of people. In the era of 4.0 globalization, the erosion of national identity has happened at an ever-increasing rate. It is the loss of national values to be blamed for irreconcilable conflicts within each nation. For instance, the rise of yellow vest protest in Paris in recent days could take its root from an underlying issue: culture clash. As a person with amnesia is no longer that person, a nation without a memory is no longer that nation. Hence, history, which play an important role in maintaining the precious values, should gain proper attention from both people and the administration.

In conclusion, while the true value of history is beyond question, those who affected by the current trend did believe that we can learn from the past nothing but the impractical knowledge. However, as long as humans consider our world through a multidimensional lens, still history is the decisive key for building a better world.