Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In our era, it is the ever-developing technology to signal the dominance of computer science over most of the traditional values. However, there is hardly a prospect in alternating the old-school libraries by applications that take their roots from computer science due to countless troubles during the operation of these new artificial intelligence systems. In my opinion, the combination of modern technology and traditional storing method should be considered a permanent solution than using computer science alone.

On the one hand, it cannot be underestimated the underlying threats hidden behind the promising prospect of applying technology in building new models of library despite the benefits in terms of saving time and space that a modern library did bring to us. What attracts developers' concern the most is how to maintain the stability of network systems embedded to the whole library since an algorithm error could remove all the data. Therefore, it is a heavy pressure to burden on the group of development in both financial aspect and human resources. In this light, setting up a new model of library on a large scale seems to be a wager that human have to gamble too much money on it. Furthermore, altering paper books by digital documents does impact on human’s health negatively, especially to accelerate the aging brain process. For example, children who interact with electronic devices regularly are easy to suffer autism and depression due to the lack of outdoor activities, according to scientists.

On another aspect, though maintaining the system of public libraries is waste of money once it is considered in short-term period, this model is really the more feasible solution compared with building the libraries based on technological platform. In fact, the traditional library system deserves the money invested due to the advantages of its physical documents in terms of historical research. For example, by digging deeper in what the material that made up ancient document were, or what age of the material were, scientists could provide us the clearer vision about our ancestors' level of development. The new model of library of which documents based on digital platform is obviously lack of these aspects. Furthermore, digital documents such as e-book serve only a certain group of users rather than those who are in urgent need of knowledge. For example, the inhabitants of remote areas or of the less-developed countries could not be able to access these sources of knowledge due to the lack of computers or of internet system. In this light, most of the advantages of a library supported by computer science could turn into the obstacles that restrict the opportunity of the people mentioned above. Consequently, those who have to face the adversity in learning process could be lagged behind further. Therefore, the sponsors, the administrations, and the developers should have the more comprehensive vision in making technological library that could serve everyone's purpose.

In conclusion, it will be a long way until the public library lose its evergreen values. As the sine wave, the higher level that technology lift us up, the more dangerous threats we have to solve. I believe in the prospects of applying computer science in terms of storing and spreading out knowledge; however, it is not time to declare that investing money to maintain the system of public library is a waste.