The best way to teach children to cooperate is through team sports at school, to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people hold the view that nothing is better than team sports to instruct cooperation to students. While I agree it will have some significant advantages to demonstrate collaboration to children, I believe that there are other approaches that are as good as playing in a team sport. In this essay, I will indicate some reasons and state my view.

On the one hand, being a member of a team can show students the meaning of cooperation. They built up this skill by trying to achieve common goals together. Taking football as an example, each player takes a different role in a match to make the team become champion, such as: defender, goalkeeper,...Secondly, play in group is an efficient way for children to practise to get along well with peers. While kids interact with their teammates, their social skills can be improved more. The team is not only a competition but also a small community where children can learn how to react to various situations.

On the other hand, teachers usually apply some strategies to cultivate the ability to work in groups of students, which have the same benefits as team sport. To begin learning based on projects, it is used in many subjects, making it one of the most popular teaching methods. For instance, in Geography, students will choose a topic of continents and research about it. They realise the importance of sharing workload so that the project can be presented with high quality in the limited time. Another issue is that there are some students who are not good at or interested in sport. Team sports may not be the perfect way for them to participate in.

In conclusion, considering all of the above points, it is clear to see that children can develop their working skill by joining a team of sports. Nevertheless, there are other approaches from the educators that also help students to become supportive and well-behaved in groups.