Big salary is much more important than job satisfaction. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people often hold a belief that a handsome salary does matter to employees much more than the feeling of fulfillment at work. I personally disagree with this argument due to the crucial roles of job contentment in the well-being and prosperity of both organizations and workers.

To begin with, a satisfactory job helps maintain people’s work-life balance, therefore, they can live their lives to the fullest. If people find enjoyment when working, they can also improve their personal and family welfare. By contrast, working under pressure would result in deterioration in mental and physical health conditions in the long run, which no payment can compensate. A prime example would be a heartrending story of Naoya, a 27-year-old engineer, who died after two years working at a large Japanese telecom firm due to stress at work. Thus, it is more beneficial to opt for an occupation that makes us satisfied/gives us joy than to consider only a hefty pay scale.

In additione, employee satisfaction eventually generates higher profits for the corporations. When staff is contented with what they are doing, they will be definitely enthusiastic to devote a greater deal of effort into their job. As a result, their productivity and efficiency will be significantly enhanced, which secures the stable growth of the business. Meanwhile, despite receiving a fat paycheck, a large number of workers still give up their positions because of their discontentment for many reasons such as aggressive and autocratic managers. Consequently, the rate of employee retention can be lowered, which negatively affects the companies’ wealthy or even survival.

All things considered, I strongly opine that it is work fulfilment, lucrative income, greatly promote the profitability and development of both individuals and companies. Hence, the corporations are recommended to adjust the policies to facilitate staff’s work environment.