Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people claim that it is essential to wear elegant clothes in the workplace, while others believe that work productivity is much more significant. I personally agree with the idea that the efficiency of work should be prioritized.

On the one hand, dressing smartly is of great importance for those who are responsible for face-to-face interaction with customers. Firstly, the way people dress not only helps them to show their respect to others but also is an incentive for them to behave professionally. Furthermore, dressing up impeccably is also a major contributor to boost one’s confidence at work. For example, it can be easily seen that teachers always wear appropriate costumes when teaching at schools. To be in a good look does bring them self-assurance.

On the other hand, the opposing view is absolutely reasonable that work productivity must be given precedence over appearances.It is often believed that people who dress unconcernedly complete their tasks much more effectively than those who spend too much time preparing for suitable. A convincing evidence could be Facebook , a company which is known for having no dress code for some specific positions required no direct communication with clients such as computer engineers or accountants. They reserve a right to wear comfortable clothes such as sweater pants or even jeans. In an interview with journalists in 2018, Mark Zuckerberg, the chairman of this successful company, said that encouraging workers to dress comfortably is an optimal solution to foster the growth of the company. In fact, Facebook is second to none when it comes to media industry.

In conclusion, even though almost every white-collar worker is required to dress formally, I would be in favor of the thought that staff should be advised to focus more on their expertise rather than their attires.