Both the poor and rich find the accessibility into universities difficult. Do you agree or disagree?

Affordability, today, is not the only consideration for students who would like to pursue an elite college education. A bigger issue is the accessibility of these schools to students who are from less-privileged backgrounds. It is disagreed that students from very different backgrounds have equal opportunities. Investigation into students’ neighborhood as well as the educational achievements of the both groups will show this.

Just consider the weight that Ivy League and other highly selective schools place on factors such as Advanced Placement courses, standardized tests, and high grade point averages. According to a survey in 2011, about 70% of students who gain admission to elite colleges come from metropolitan areas, which host highly regarded public schools. Even though exceptions are made for poor students, admission officers are understandably hesitant to use an entirely different yardstick. This focus on academic excellence makes it far more difficult for students who don’t live in wealthy neighborhood or attend college-preparatory high schools to gain entry to top universities.

And of course, it has been long known that poor students don’t score as well on standardized tests like the ACT and SAT as do wealthy. From the recent survey held in 2015, it is clear that the gap between rich and poor students in educational achievements is wider than ever before. Yet, scores on such tests are still an important method for determining college admittance. This is an unfortunate set of circumstances, especially because gifted poor, low-income students can benefit most from the educational opportunities at elite institutions.

In a nutshell, when it comes to the students’ access to universities, students from rich family wins the game with having wealthier neighborhood environment and better achieved test results. Thus, this makes it clear why most selective schools are easily accessed by the privileged and wealthy than by other types of students. Perhaps universities should begin recruitment and educational support programs for poor students in middle school, instead of waiting until high school.