car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam.

how true do you think this statement is?

what measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Over a past few decades the number of cars has increased in the streets all around the world that makes cities a huge traffic jam. According to statistics the number of vehicles can be improved daily since decades ago due to the fact that car companies produce more cars than before and these days everyone would like to have a car, so, traffic jam occurs. Governments can use many actions to encourage ones not to use their car by improving public transport and make traffic plan.

Nowadays car companies try to produce more comfortable and beautiful vehicles than the past and they provoke everyone’s enthusiasm to own on them, as result, more people are interested in having one these convenient cars such as AUODI, BMW AND Renault. Although, we cannot deny the fact that most of these companies sell their products to third world countries, the number of cars in these countries has become twofold than two decades ago. Additionally, by improving this industry and the percentage of youngsters in the world, the need of cars has progressed in comparison with many years ago, therefore, based on their work or qualifications they prefer to have a car. For instance, in many Iranian families some of the family members are students, others work in different companies and they want a car in order to do their work, consequently, after some years the countries change to a giant traffic jam.

On the other hand, it can be on the governments’ hands to make some disciplines or measures to provoke people not to use their cars. The first and one of the most important factors would be improving public transport as it is essential in each metropolitan city such as London underground which is the oldest one, Shanghai Metro which has the longest metro system and New York subway has the most stations in the world. In addition, governments can make traffic plan to prevent people to go to areas that are overcrowded like Downtowns, so, it maybe help to reduce the number of cars in many city centers and of course traffic jam. A tangible example is Tehran that in recent years become a huge parking lot for many car owners driving everywhere.

In conclusion, it can be deduced from previously state issued that the parentage of the car owners is increasing daily, as a result, we are facing a huge traffic jam around the world. Unquestionably, governments may help this traffic by enhancing public transport and make measures and rules to prevent people using their own cars.