Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam.’ How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

In today’s world, a number of families having their own private car have enhanced dramatically in many large metropolitans. Getting stuck in traffic congestion makes many systematic problems for individuals, so governments should take some practical and rational steps to deal with these issues. Throughout the following essay, some approaches will be discussed.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that during recent decades, citizens have had tendency to travel by their private cars. First of all, all employers and labors commute their workstations by their car instead of using public transportation, so this indifference would create an obvious chaos in the big cities. For instance, when a car is used just by one passenger, it will increase the traffic congestion, especially during the rush hours, which causes air pollution. Secondly, without a shadow of doubt, it seems that due to lacking of public transportation in all corners of the cities, people have to be used their cars when coming from remote areas. Ultimately, it is noticeable that people are compelled to take their private vehicles.

On the other hand, governments should enact some principles to prevent the severe traffic in city centers. Firstly, they should improve infrastructures and strengthen the transportation system by allocating much more fund for these sections. Also, it is more likely that some rules are enacted by governments to reduce the permission of private cars entering downtowns, so some disobedience drivers should be penalized strongly due to breaking the rules and entering restricted areas.

In conclusion, after a careful analysis of some problems that provide heavy traffics, and some practical solutions to solve these troubles, I would believe that this problem can be solved by respecting the rules and promoting the public facilities by governments. It is hoped that these solutions will be taken into account in the foreseeable future.