Childhood obesity is becoming a serious problem in many countries What are the causes of this What solutions can be offered

Nowadays, more children are overweight than ever before. In my view, unhealthy eating habits and physical inactivity have given rise to this obesity pandemic among minors, still, the government and parents can take proper measures to mitigate it.

There are two main factors contributing to childhood obesity. An obvious reason is that the current younger generation has poor access to healthy meals. As fast food items appeal to parents due to their affordability and availability, children are usually given such convenience foods which contain a lot of greasy ingredients. Were it not for junk food products, children would be maintaining a healthy diet, and the obesity rate could possibly fall. Another deep-rooted cause of this issue is a sedentary lifestyle. Not only do the youth lack discipline for regular exercise, but they also spend a great deal of time playing video games and watching television as opposed to engaging in outdoor activities. Considering these great contributors to excessive weight gain, it is hardly surprising to see obese children.

Nevertheless, there are feasible ways in which this issue can be dealt with. First, politicians have the potential to impose a ban on the sale of fast food products and promote the proliferation of healthy foods. Bermuda, for instance, has banned fast food sales in the country and, thereby, prevented people, in particular young children, from gaining extra weight. However, given this is unlikely to happen in many countries, parents should take on responsibility for their children’s health. More specifically, they ought to encourage their offspring to eat healthy foods and do daily exercise from an early age to stay slim and healthy. The sooner we take action, the fewer children will experience this health problem.

In conclusion, I believe that poor diets and a lack of physical activity have created an obesogenic environment, but governing bodies and parents can generate viable solutions to halve childhood obesity.