Childhood obesity is becoming a serious problem in many countries What are the causes of this What solutions can be offered

Obesity has been a major problem among children for the last few years. In my view, this has resulted from unhealthy habits and physical inactivity, which can be mitigated if parents and the government take proper measures.

To begin with, there are two main factors contributing to obesity. An obvious reason is that the current generation has access to unhealthy food. Unhealthy foods contain a high amount of fat and other harmful nutrition, which causes the problem of being overweight. In addition to this, another deep-rooted cause of overweight is a sedentary lifestyle. Not only sedentary lifestyles are responsible for obesity, but playing video games is also responsible. For example, a survey conducted by the World Health Organization revealed that the majority of kids who play video games and consume fast food on a daily basis suffer from obesity.

Nevertheless, this problem can be solved if lawmakers and parents take proper decisions. Firstly, the government should impose a ban on fast food or increase the amount of tax on fast food companies. As a consequence, kids are less likely to eat unhealthy food. Furthermore, parents should encourage their minors to play outdoor games such as cricket, football, kho-kho, and so on. Playing these kinds of games involves using most parts of the body so that they burn calories, and thus they prevent obesity.

In summary, I believe that a lack of exercise and an unhealthy diet create the issue of obesity, but that government and parents can tackle this issue by making proper decisions.