Children are facing more pressure nowadays from academic, social and commercial perspectives. What are the causes of these pressures and what measures should be taken to reduce these pressures?.
There is a current distressing situation that the external life has burdened the youth with a
wide range of pressures. In this essay, I would discuss several precursors to this issue,
before some viable measures are drawn.
The fact that children are coerced into pressures and responsibilities stems from a number
of root reasons. As far as the academic burden is concerned, it is the escalating
competitiveness of the job market accompanied with the parental over-expectation that is
to blame. The organisations’ demand of a qualified workforce pours into the parents’ mind
a thought that their children have to be successful at school, and many youths today take
studying as an obligation. In addition, some children, mostly those who have special talents
or are born in famous families, may find their personal life in the public interest. The
appearance on the media at such a young age may deprive the junior citizens of an innocent
and carefree childhood. Regarding the commercial pressure children have to encounter,
fast food chains or sweetshops have made them the target customers; and they are dragged
into a chaotic influx of information by both the online and offline advertising campaigns.
In order to reverse such pressures on children, I would like to propose a number of drastic
remedies. Firstly, parents should create a mentally and physically healthy domestic
environment, involving a balance between learning and relaxing. Cooling-down activities
such as sports, drawing or traveling, which are normally affordable, can release the stress
of children brought on by both academic and social burdens. In addition, business morality
has to be emphasised and penetrated by all firms. They should keep their online
advertisements inaccessible to the youth by putting age restrictions on their websites.
In final words, it is unfair for the children to bear any kind of pressure, and every part of
society should exert effort to provide them with a happy youth life.