Children should be forced to read novels from every major genre, including fiction, science fiction, sports, romance, comics, horror, and crime. Being widely read will mean children will have a better understanding of the world around them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

We are in the sophisticated world were acquisition of knowledge is obligatory. Thus, learning is the never ending process were an individual gain knowledge through innumerable aspects such as experience, reading books, watching movies, visiting exhibition et cetra. Therefore, there are arguments that, for better understanding of the surroundings, reading novels should be mandatory for children. However, I strongly opine that reading novels should be a must activity where it has many benefits.

To begin with, histories can be preserved by bringing them into children’s knowledge. Whereas, in some countries due to drastic changes in trends and way of living, their own culture and traditions are in the stage of eradication. Therefore, making next generation to read the historical books, customs and traditions can be preserved to some extent.

In linguistic point of view, students also have a chance to develop their language skills. For example, reading books like “Wings of fire” will improve the ability of reading and writing in English, for whom English is not a native language. In addition to that, looking into psychological point of view, philosophy will help an individual in his/her personal life by developing their skills in logical, critical thinking and problem solving methods.

Last but not least, children will have a chance to know about laws and ethics of their own country by reading political science. As a result, growing millions will know the value of systems and also reduction in crimes can be expected in coming future.

To bring into conclusion, however, internet and other related stuffs can help the students to perceive knowledge, novels and books plays a major role in learning process and it is always welcome by making in mandatory.