Children who are brought up in families that do not have large amounts of money are better prepared to deal with the problems of adult life than children brought up by wealthy parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

I do agree with the statement that children brought up in poor families are better prepared to deal with the problems of adult life than children brought up by wealthy parents.

Children of poor parents are prematurely exposed to the problems of adult life, such as learning to survive on a low family income and sacrificing luxuries for essential items. These children begin to see the realities of life in their home or social environment. Their parents’ own struggles service as an example to them.

These children are taught with necessary skills for survival as an adult from an early age. Many children for example work at weekends or holidays to either collect pocket money or even contribute to family income. A good example is the children who accompany their parents to sell product at local market. They make a direct contribution to their family in terms of labour or income.

Children of poor families are also highly motivated. They tend to set high goals to improve their economic and social situations. A relevant example would be Mr. Bill Gates (founder of Microsoft Corporation). He had an impoverished background, but he used his talent and motivations to set up the world’s largest computer organization.

However, there are some problems that children of poor background do encounter. Children who had “robbed” of childhood, for example while working, may feel cheated. They often turn to crime. This is, however, a small group.

In summary, children with an impoverish background are able to deal with the problems of adult life, because of early exposure, family role models and sheer motivations.