Cloning

As human's lives are extending, the question of producing genetically identical individuals is becoming more pressing. For most, it is an unacceptable idea but there are some dissenting voices, claiming that by providing spare organs and body parts it would play a role in saving lives. I oppose the idea of cloning for moral as well as more practical reasons.

Firstly there is an ethical dilemma, derived from religious beliefs. Most of the global population holds faith in a supernatural power that created humankind. For them, cloning is an abomination. Whatsmore, there is a question of soul and conscious mind that genetically created person would possibly have. Following this thought, treating their bodies as storage for spare parts would be cruel. Let us look at the first ever clone: a sheep. The animal not only looked like other species of its kind but also behaved like one, had its own consciousness. Therefore human clones would possess the same qualities as the rest of us.

There are also more pragmatic issues: overpopulation and selectivism of the process. As human's population keeps growing rapidly, extending the lives would dramatically increase the number, reducing an access to the resources for all of us. Furthermore, it is very likely that the process of cloning would be a premium service, available to chosen few, most likely the richest on the earth or otherwise privileged. In my opinion, the lack of inclusivity would cause the development of an underground market of genetically created copies and crime that would swiftly follow.

In conclusion, the subject of creating cloned copies rises understandable disquiet. In my opinion, it is one of the rare scientific discoveries that should have stayed a subject of sci-fi literature, as it comes with too many dilemmas: moral as well as

Practical ones.