Compare the advantages and disadvantages of three of the following as media for
communicating information. State which you consider to be the most effective.
• comics
• books
• radio
• television
• film
• theatre
This essay will discuss the benefits and drawbacks of three different media, namely books,
radio and television. I will argue that television is the most powerful of these three media,
in terms of its ability to communicate information.
The main advantage of books is that they are usually considered to be reliable sources of
information. People tend to refer to books when they want to research a subject in depth,
and for this reason they continue to play an important role in education. On the other hand,
books quickly go out of date, and therefore they are not the best medium for
communicating news stories.
Radio is a much more effective medium than books for the communication of up-to-date
information. We can listen to news broadcasts about events as they happen, and a key
benefit of radio is that we can listen to it while doing other activities, such as driving or
working. The main drawback of radio, when compared to books or television, is that there
is no visual element; we cannot see what the broadcaster is describing.
In my opinion, television is the most dynamic of these three media because it brings us
closer to reality than a book or radio programme ever can. For example, we can watch
events as they take place on the other side of the world, or we can see the body language
of a politician who is being interviewed. The disadvantages of television are that
programmes tend to be short and interrupted by advertisements, meaning that information
is presented in limited depth.
In conclusion, while books and radio broadcasts are excellent communication tools, I
believe the television can have an even greater impact on the viewer.