Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Some people believe that getting high education is quite essential for future career, when others argue that much more significant is to gain practical knowledge and skills. Both sides of this issue will be discussed before stating my opinion.

On the one hand, university education is directed to prepare high-qualified specialists in each sphere, so it provides us with necessary amount of professional information for potential jobs. For example, any doctor or advocate could not work practice without getting a degree in medicine or law: they carry out a very great responsibility because they may hold someone’s life in their hands. Moreover, university give students precious opportunities to make new acquaintances and connections which could be useful in looking for a well-paid job. Also, the majority of employers, in turn, encourage employees with degree from prestigious universities with more respect than workers with college diploma.

On the other hand, experience and soft skills certainly matter. Nowadays, the previous challenge for graduates is the lack of working experience, what becomes the crucial factor for employers. You could have two or more educational degrees but if you have no practical skills, you will have less lofty chances to be employed. In addition, it is not a secret to anybody, that there is a sharp decline in the quality of today education. And this, in order, lead to disappearance of professional workers on labor market. So, it becomes insufficient to have only academic diploma, as the entrepreneurs look for talented, capable and constantly developing stuff for vacancies. There is a plethora instances of outstanding people, who have no university education, but they are generous, and one of these figures is Thomas Edison, inventor of light bulb.

In conclusion, from my point of view, university education will certainly expand the career prospects, but each theoretical knowledge requires special practical skills, so I think the experience and soft skills matter not less.