Computerized data collection can be justified even though it endangers the rights of individuals. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Computerized data collection is an efficient tool commonly use by the people in the government as well as in the business and private sectors. Although there are drawbacks that it may endanger the security and privacy of every individual, computerized data collection can be justified depending on the usage and its purpose.

To start wth, government agencies like CIA (Central Intelligence Agency) or NBI (National Bureau of Investigation), militaries and police force gather data and code it in their secured system for the purpose of national security. The private data are gathered and classified and stored in their database. These database are purposely secured with hacker or intrusion detection program as well as backups for safe keeping of sensitive information. Private data collection were imposed to prevent terrorist and rebel attacks, possible assassinations and mass murders like bombing which are all considered national threat. In the past, it took a long time to checked for criminal records because policemen have to look for it on their piles of papers. There is also a possibility that files or records are lost. But nowadays, when the computer age came, online data collection in the government made their system organized. Records have been easier to find, as a result, government workers became productive and systematize.

Moreover, in the business sector such as companies, they are collecting data form their employees as part of their official records. These records are necessary for the purpose of assessment of the potential strengths and weaknesses of an employee and his or her possible elevation to next higher position and or the training needs if necessary.

Lastly, in the hospitals, patients fill up data form to keep a record of their health and sickness. For example, patients supply important informations like food and drug allergy, blood type and medication they are currently taking. These vital informations help asses the nurses and doctors on their further course of treatment and his or her well-being. Head to toe assessment are documented in the health institution's system that in any case the patient is admitted in an emergency situation data files can be easily pulled out and immediate medical attention can be given.

In my opinion, the continued use of collective data stored in computers, proved not to be detrimental to every private citizen and is essential part in every aspect of different economic sectors. The purposes I have written are all nobel and because of the advent of technology, countermeasures such as file backups, intruder detection program, encryption and access control are implement as such, these securities promote and protect privacy.