Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It can be clearly seen that people are being able to purchase the same commodities regardless of place due to the globalization. It seems that there are no borders between countries. From my point of view, this have both benefits and drawbacks because of these following reasons.

Regarding to the advantage, it brings convenience to people. In the past, when people wanted to buy something, they had to travel long trips, not to mention that the goods are only made in foreign countries because products were not available anywhere and it caused physical and mental stress or even life risk. Since countries began to cooperate and share to develop so that the commodity market expanded, people have been able to bought every product without having to go as far as before. This help people save a lot of money and time.

However, it has a major drawback which is a terrible effect on environment. The development of the international market depends on the export needs as well as import, which fulfilled by the 3 main transportation routes are road, sea and air using fuel mainly gasoline and oil, that releases greenhouse gases into the environment and causes pollution. Futhermore, in parallel with the expansion of production and business activities of multinational corporation, more and more factories were built. In fact, these enterprises do not invest to much money on waste treatment technology in host country and it lead to causing severe damage to the environment such as the case of Vedan company, a Taiwanese FDI enterprise in Vietnam, which discharges 10 times more than the permitted standard directly into the Thi Vai River.

To sum up, it is obvious that globalization brings resemblance between countries in the sale of goods and it has both advantages and disadvantages. Governments need to take measures to maximize benefits and minimize drawbacks, especially environmental problems.