Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some people believe that all tertiary students should only study useful subjects in the future, others argue that they should study whatever subjects they like. In my point of view, higher education students should be able to choose their preferred study course.

There are many reasons that people believe in the merit of studying only useful subjects in the future like science and technology. One of that may be because of the obvious contribution of studying those subjects to national development. For example, people often perceive a doctor's contribution to society as higher than that of an artist. Besides, students who graduate in these subjects may have better job offers, higher salaries and career progression. This helps to improve the quality of their life. Therefore, learning subjects that are considered useful in the future is not only beneficial for the learners but also for the economy and society.

Although the advantages of studying those subjects can easily be seen, I believe that students should be free to choose what they want to study. Since others subjects still contribute to the society and when doing what they like they can create more values for the economy. Moreover, it cannot be sure which subjects are most useful in the years ahead. There may be a different trend from what people predicted. Therefore, the useful subjects at that time may not relate to science and technology anymore.

In conclusion, despite the benefits of the university to focus on specific useful subjects, I prefer students should have the right to decide their subjects.