Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, there is an obvious phenomenon that world becomes flatter than before due to the same products scattered around the world. In some degree, I agree that it is beneficial to the society even if several disadvantages couldn't be avoided.

On one side of the argument, people argue that purchasing the similar products makes serious damage on local producers. While transnational companies profits more and more, small companies and local individual producers on agriculture and industry suffer great challenges, which provide numerous jobs for local job markets. As a result, the employment in some regions witness a stead decline in the previous decade. Besides, the variety of goods collapses because giant manufactures prefer simple products which could be easily produced and shipped anywhere.

On the other hand, the development of globalization is an unchangeable trend. Large scale products decrease costs significantly. Considering the famous economic theory, namely, comparative advantage theory, any country or region are supposed to produce their best things and exchange other goods they need from other countries. Secondly, the similar products anywhere provide people a safe and comfortable feeling in a world with high mobility. For instance, when you are nervous and your stomach isn't used to local food when you are abroad, McDonald's will give lots of happiness and relief. What's more, countries could concentrate workers and money on high-quality service and products, such as exotic hotels, travel agents and organic foods.

After having discussed the most pertinent points of this issue, I feel the only logical conclusion is that the benefits brought by the same products outweigh the disadvantages. Hence, I'm partially inclined to the opinion that this is a positive development.