In countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing.

What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Obviously, the phenomenon of obesity and its corresponding impacts have sparked massive debates. In this regard, apart from numerous fitness issues which overweight people are struggling whit, obesity is the main risk factor of a remarkable number of diseases. In my view, different elements contribute to increase body mass including the lack of physical activity and consuming fast-foods.

Of course, in today’s modern life, individuals due to their busy timetables spend less time on routine exercises. Therefore, the absence of physical activities in daily routines of people, particularly in developed countries, can lead to being overweight. Likewise, living in urban areas and the advent of sophisticated tools such as remote controls and mobile phones make people far lazier. Consequently, the inactivity ends up increasing the average weight amongst all age groups from teenagers to elderly humans.

In addition, we shouldn’t lose sight of the roles of unhealthy diet. Generally speaking, eating high-calorie fast-foods which is spreading in the four corners of the globe paves the way to fatness. Recently, scientists have conducted a remarkable number of surveys on the effects of fast-food consumption and find out a significant relationship between this variable and obesity. As a tangible example, a man needs approximately 2500 calories during a day. By consumption of nutritionally poor fast-prepared meals, like hotdog, he obtains extra calories. Hence, these surplus calories in his body convert into fat cells.

On the other hand, there are many easily applicable solutions which are suggested by researchers to prevent obesity. For instance, having healthy diets, changing the lifestyle, and, being more active physically. Undoubtedly, a simplest way to making the body fit is regular walking for around 30 minutes at least three times a week. Another formula to evaporate extra fat cells and to improve body shape is to turn into vegetables and the decrease of carbohydrate consumption.

To sum up, despite compelling arguments on the causes of obesity and which policies have to take into account, the main elements are inactive lifestyle and eating nutritionally bankrupt foods. At the end, it is up to you: do some exercises or endure a surgery to make your stomach smaller!