As countries develop, people tend to buy more and more cars. Do you thing the advantages for the individual outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

It is generally claimed that in a developing country, its people purchase more and more cars. Although I fairly agree that the negatives of utilizing more automobiles intensify the environmental problem outweigh the individual advantages, this essay will discuss and examine both points of view.

Having a comfortable life is a primary advantage of being a car owner. In this day and age when the time is important for our daily life, driving a car instead of using public transport is an outstanding choice for the number of people. This is due to the fact that traveling with an individual vehicle is faster, and can effectively save the immense amount of time. For instance, the average students in Victoria have to spend over 20 min waiting for a bus to commute from their house to school, compare to just only 10 min by driving a car. Thus, there is no doubt that this amount of extra time and a comfort cause advantages to every car owner.

On the other hand, these cars significantly ruin the environment. The higher number of cars on the streets inevitably damage the atmosphere and the air quality. As a result of a plethora of carbon dioxide emission by these vehicles, the environmental problems such as severely degraded air quality will be aggravated. This can lead to many adverse effects such as health hazard and numerous types of detrimental diseases.

To conclude, even though buying cars results in some individual profits, in a long-term, this behavior certainly causes many negative impacts such as poor environment and some diseases. Therefore, I firmly believe that if people keep buying more and more cars, our world will definitely encounter an environmental catastrophe in the future.