Countries should try to produce all the food for the population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been a major concern for nations to ensure adequate food for its entire people throughout the centuries. Some people contend that government should focus on producing all kinds of foods while importing as less as possible. I firmly believe that producing many kinds of foods is an inevitable effort in terms of ensuring nation’s food security.

On the one hand, self-producing yields significant benefits for domestic economy, both farmers and customers. Firstly, shopping locally supports local farmers and sustainable farming. By selling directly to the public at farmers’ markets can merchants ensure that they can gain a significant share based on their crops and livestock, instead of being forced off the land because of living in deprivations. This encourages peasants to cultivate and rear a wide assortment of crops and animals. Therefore, the locals can gain an enormous choice of fresh produces, but at chargeable cost. Additionally, purchasers can partly fortify their health conditions. For example, the groceries from the seller whose produces are additive-free but also in a connection with the rhythm of the seasons help the locals avoid being diagnosed with chronic diseases.

On the other hand, I would argue that growing all kind of food and conducting import restrictions are inappropriate. Firstly, it is unattainable to produce all food within a certain country. Weather is instrumental in output of crops. Not many countries have the right weathers to grow certain fruits. For example, sweet mangoes can mostly be found only in tropical countries whereas in cold weather countries, they will be less tasty. Moreover, the international commodities market, which to some extent enhances the living standards of the citizens, increases significant demand of the locals, and more and more people prefer foreign food. Therefore, that every country imports the food they lack is undeniable.

In conclusion, I again reaffirm that the liberty and thrive of a nation is unable to be attained if lack of appropriate legislation of allocating food source.