Newspapers have an enormous influence on people’s opinions and ideas. Why is it? Do you think it is a positive or negative situation?

It is true that newsletter have a profound impact on people’s viewpoints and sentiments. There could be several reasons for this phenomenon, and I consider it to be a both positive and negative issue.

There are two main reasons why papers have a far-reaching influence on the public. Firstly, the bottom line is the globalization. This is because this trend triggers more and more people to approach the daily basis and current affairs so that they can find a new business opportunity or just keep abreast of this constantly changing world. Gradually people can shape their perspective towards life, depending on the ratio of positive articles they peruse, unintentionally or not. In addition, newsletters are considered to have a tendency to change the traditional role of books as an indispensable source of information. Take online newspapers as an example. Nowadays, with the prevalence of advance technology, people are inclined to rely on this kind of information source to broaden their horizons, instead of books as before.

On the one hand, newspapers can have positive impact on readers. For example, when new stories such as reports of the work of the medical staff after a natural disaster or the philanthropic campaigns of public figures to help the communities. This kind of news might inspire us all to lead a better life. On the other hand, pessimistic ethoses about life can also stem from reading miserable articles. In case the public are repeatedly exposed on a daily basis to stories about crime, war and tragic human suffering around the world. I believe that such repeated exposure gradually desensitizes people, and we become more cynical about the world and more skeptical that we can do anything to change it.

In conclusion, the beneficial effects of newspapers on individuals are undeniable; however, I hold a conviction that everyone should filter out depressing articles to mitigate the potential adverse effects on them.