Many people believe that teachers should take the responsibility for the students to judge what is right and wrong and behave well, while others feel that teacher should only take academic subjects. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the responsibility of teachers for the students’ behaviors. While some people opine that teachers should merely focus on academic subjects, I believe that they should concern both academic performances and conducts of their students.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why teachers should only shoulder responsibility for academic subjects. Firstly, parents play a more important role in nurture their kids’ personality. Because they can understand their offspring well; therefore, the children can be better educated to recognize moral values by their parents. Parents are also more comfortable in imposing harsh punishment on their kids when they have bad manners. Secondly, teachers do not have enough time to keep an eye on each student. Schooltime at large is relatively short, and almost the amount of time is used for teachers to get across academic information. Therefore, it is hard for them to monitor young people’s behaviors. They are also discouraged from punishing students for immoral acts due to the fear of upsetting the students’ parents.

On the other hand, I side with those who believe that teachers also should be in charge of whether the students misbehave or not. Primarily, parents are more and more engaged with their work, so they have a tendency to pay little attention to their children’s conducts. In that case, instead of turning a blind on unacceptable behaviors of their students, the teachers can act as parents’ role to rectify their students’ misconducts so that can be nurtured wholly in both cerebral and academic ability. For example, teachers can inform students of moral principles, enforce the school’s code of conduct and motivate students to become ethical individuals.

In conclusion, it seems to me that teacher play a vital role in raising their students’ academic performance as well as correct misbehaviors.