In some countries, men and women are having children late in life. What are the reasons for this development? What are the effects on society and family life?

It is true that more and more spouses defer their parenthood until they reach middle age, more or less. There are some reasons as well as adverse effects on this trend.

There are some causes explaining why maternal age at childbirth is a preferable choice. The bottom line is many would-be-parents have a tendency to pursue their personal desire. Nowadays, spouses in dual-income families incline to be engaged with work with the aim of prosperous career prospects. Having pregnancy at early ages, women have to sacrifice their future and delicate most of their time taking care of the newborn. In addition, an increasing cost of raising a child is also considered as hindrance making many married couples having children late, especially in major cities. It is undoubted that spouses need a good financial base to nurture their offspring, such as providing sufficient nourishment and education.

Result in several adverse effects on both society and family life. As to old parents, if females give birth to their kids at a late age congenital anomalies, it is likely that their children suffer from genetic disorder or chromosome problems. In many cases, disabled children are born by virtue of their parents’ pure selfishness, which can place a burden on both family life and society. Moreover, an aging society can stem from this trend. While the number of senior citizens stably increases, a falling birth rate cannot make up for the vacancies left by retired people. This finally can cause a lack of workforce in the future.

In conclusion, according to many effects described above, I believe that this development should be constrained.