The crime rate among teenagers has increased dramatically in many countries.

Discuss some possible reasons for this increase and suggest solutions.

Nowadays societies have been encountering with issues of teenage crime more than in the past. These cases are now increasing rapidly in the modern world with changing lifestyles. In this essay, some reasons for this problem will be addressed and possible solutions will also be discussed.

First of all, there is no doubt that problem families would be the single main cause for delinquency. Instead of being brought up under tender loving care of their parents, children become problem doers in the societies with higher divorce rates. Secondly, a financial insufficiency in these days of higher living expenses leads to such crimes. Having been unable to earn their own living yet, teenagers tend to commit crimes in need of extra money by shoplifting for their desired things such as modern technical gadgets and even by robbery for drug abuses. Finally, the last but not the least factor depends on the nature of youth itself. It is the adolescent period that parents often find hard to control their children who likely to take part in street fights due to aggressive nature and try out new things, for instance, substance abuse, from peer pressure.

To tackle these issues, parents are largely responsible for their children. They should avoid family breakdowns at all costs by being role models for their offspring not to go astray and to keep them on the right track, especially during the transition period from adolescents to adults as well as by overwhelming with kindness and love. Moreover, governments have to provide better supports for youngsters by establishing more youth centres and creating good job opportunities. In addition to these, strict law enforcement should come into an effect for them who break the rules and regulations. After all, today’s youths should be encouraged to participate in volunteering programs which give them insight into real world, help them develop better attitudes and equip them with essential life skills.

In fact, it is clear that there are various reasons for this rise in teenage crime, but solutions are available on the other hand, too. If these actions are taken now, the situation should be prevented from deteriorating any further.