Currently there is a trend towards use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective and at worst may be dangerous. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In recent times, alternative medicine has gained a lot of popularity, criticism and attention in public. While, some believe that it could be beneficial there are also speculations about its harmful effects on an individuals body. I do not completely agree with this statement and in this essay I would support my view with examples.

On the one hand, alternative medicine field (Accu-puncture, Ayurveda, Homeopathy, Naturopathy) is not much researched about and has its dark side. This is because, while performing the therapy by inexperienced hand could lead to anatomical dislocations, paralysis and death. Furthermore, the methods and practices used in this field gives a delayed result. Whereas, people need symptomatic relief and want to see themselves fit in no time. For example, an acupuncture done by unprofessional therapist can go wrong. As a result, it would lead to permanent neurological deficit and death. In contrast, if this kind of medicine is practicsed wisely with correct maneuvers, it could permanently relieve a persons’ ailment. This will result in a satisfied happy patient with minimal chemical drugs in their body system.

On the other hand, I believe that alternative medicine has its own role in curing disease of a person. While, this kind of medicine has been in existence over past many years and is still in use by many cultural people as well as Indian sages. The reason for this is, the traditional steps and techniques involved in this system. For instance, naturally occurring elements like seeds, leaves, bark of tree and flowers are used as essential ingredients in Ayurvedic medicine. In order to, benefit the health these elements are mixed and used in right proportions by scholars who have dedicated their life for this study. However, due to lack of substantial benefits in this field people are studying it superficially. This would lead to dangerous outcomes.

In conclusion, while these less researched alternative medicine techniques are criticized and rejected by modern medicine due to their detrimental effects, personally, I believe they should be given a chance to play a role in treatment strategy only if used correctly. It could also be used in conjunction with modern medicine with similar goals of saving a life.