Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and at worst they may be dangerous.

To what extend do you agree with this statement?

Along with the revolutionary developments in modern medical treatments, which are stimulated by scientific advancement, is the growing reputation of alternative medicines. Yet, these have been subjected to disapproving attitudes of individuals who remain highly skeptical of their potential impacts. Amid the voice of vehement opposition, I advocate the use of alternative methods with a firm belief in their contribution to humans’ health.

On the one hand, the claim of the alternative medicines’ failure in dealing with ailment arises from the yet thorough observation of their influence. While a pill produced in accordance to carefully contemplated amounts of chemicals can help to relieve a pain shortly after being taken, the prescribed combination of different herbals, for instance, obviously demands a longer time for any positive effects to emerge. Such prolonged periods may drain users of energy as well as trust. It should be noted, in addition, that acute and common health conditions, for example cold, can be effectively tackled using certain traditional cures, one of which is taking a sauna whose source of water is added with a number of ginger slices and lemon leaves.

On the other hand, the two distinguished name tags of scientific treatments and alternative ones create the impression of the latter being completely detached from science. Reality, however, has provided sufficient evidence in support of the opposite. Whereas it is crystal clear that the vast majority of alternative medicine applications are known thanks to words from previous generations who are unlikely to recite the mechanism for such usage, there is a sophisticated construction of logic. The relationship between a specific selection of different-sized needles and the working of body chemicals is scrutinised by students majoring in the scientific study branch known as indigenous medicines. These learners, who are equipped with years of accumulated knowledge and experience, subsequently prescribe a treatment based on science rather than on intuition.

In conclusion, it is time the public set their mind free from the subjective beliefs revolving around alternative medicines’ unfavorable impacts, which are the undesirable results of inconsiderate study into their healing effects and the conventional thought that science and traditional treatments cannot form a harmonious marriage. Alternative medicines, thus, are worthy of recognition for their medical values.