Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same road cause some problems. What are the problems? What are the solutions?

There is no doubt that cyclists and car drivers sharing the same road cause some problems. This essay will outline a number of problems with this trend and some possible solutions to help tackle this issue.

There are two main obstacles associated with sharing the same roadway between car drivers and bikers. Firstly, the fact that these two types of vehicles travel in the same lane leads to a large number of accidents. The speed of a car when moving is definitely higher than that of a bicycle, so the casualty rate for people riding bikes is higher. Furthermore, because of the great speed of cars, bicyclists are more likely to get into dangerous situations. Secondly, traffic jams often occur because cars tend to give way to bicycles. Therefore, this is frustrating for car drivers who are driving their vehicles, especially in rush hour.

To tackle these issues, populations in general and state agencies in particular should come up with policies to overcome these traffic problems. There are some possible measures that are useful to avoid problems. For instance, the road should be widened and divided to suit each type of transport and the appropriate speed for each lane; in particular, separate bicycle lanes should be built to reduce the proportion of traffic congestion. Moreover, as traffic safety awareness education is really important, traffic lessons should be expanded in schools and local areas.

In conclusion, sharing the same road between cyclists and car drivers causes a lot of different traffic problems. To address this issue, the government should propose reasonable policies. Additionally, citizens need to consciously obey traffic laws to avoid the above problems.