Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same road cause some problems. What are the problems? What are the solutions?

There is no doubt that drivers use a wide range of vehicles, such as bicycles or automobiles, to commute in the same lane, which causes some problems. This situation is understandable, and measures could certainly be taken to tackle the issues. In this essay, I will outline several reasons for this and put forward some feasible measures to address this issue.

On the one hand, there are two main problems. First, sharing the same road could lead to several accidents between a car and bicycle, as opposed to the own road. Research shows that there are a thousand accidents occurring each day. Due to the size and shape of vehicles, cars are larger and their speed is more rapid than bikes, causing a tonne of mortality. Secondly, since drivers using cars to commute are more likely to travel at a low speed when they spot cyclists, Therefore, this situation resulted in traffic congestion, which affects some individuals. For example, when businessmen have to go to work for presentations or appointments, they need to be on time. Thus, traffic jams are a big problem.

On the other hand, in order to solve this issue, authorities should strictly limit the maximum speed to as low as 50 kph so that both means of transportation can travel at the same time and help create a safer environment. Moreover, whether commuters break the law or not, they should be punished significantly with a high fine; therefore, they feel ashamed and do not redo it. Plus, improved infrastructure is essential. The government needs to develop more road lanes. For example, by building separate lanes for cyclists and car drivers, they have their own road to drive on and minimise injuries.

In conclusion, there are main contributors to the problem, and several measures are suggested to put an end to the situation.