Cyclists and car drivers today share the same road cause some problems. What are the problems? What can be done do to reduce these problems?

It is true that in many parts of the world, people who ride a bicycle and those driving a car are using the same road, which proves to be problematic. There are numerous problems associated with the sharing of road among cyclists and car drivers, but certain approaches could be taken to mitigate its implications.

First of all, when cyclists and car drivers share the same road, it will be difficult for the councils and planners to come up with comprehensive road designs and traffic regulations. To be more specific, what can be efficient to control those driving by automobiles might be ineffective to those who bicycle. For example, it is observed that in Viet Nam, people who travel by bicycle often encroach on cars’ lane or ignore the traffic light without being punished by police officers. Another problem is the high possibility of traffic collision. The truth is that there is almost no law regarding the maximum speed of bicyclists. For this reason, if they do not slow down when riding through road bends and street bumps which are primarily designed for traffic-calming, they might be faced with accidents. Otherwise, their bike’s brake or tyre will be significantly damaged.

Despite the above-mentioned problems, several measures can be done to improve the situation. In the first place, proper division of the lane and clever separation between cyclists and car drivers could bring about promising outcomes. This will make it easier for the enforcement of some regulations to make roads safer for both bike riders and automobile drivers. One more solution would be for the government to impose a ban and rigorous punishment on cyclists to ride on the roads aimed for car users only and vice versa. For example, there should be stricter penalties for traffic offenders such as heavier fine or driver’s license suspension, which will ensure the safety of roads for traffic participants.

In sum, a number of problems can arise as people use bicycle and cars on the same road. Still, the state could adopt various steps to lower the negative impact of this issue.