Demand for food is increasing worldwide. What is the cause of this?what measures can the international community take to meet this demand?

Food is the basic need to humankind. There is no doubt that scarcity of food is the grave concern in the contemporary world. Population explosion and lack of agricultural education are the reasons for rising food demand. This can be alleviated by advanced farming practices and by providing subsidies.

To embark with, increasing numbers of human in the world is the prime reason for insufficient food . This is because produced food is not divided equally among people and those who belong to lower layer of economy unable to afford expensive food,to illustrate this, 60%

of the population in the world is below poverty line. as a result, majority portion of society is striving for nutritious substances that cause shortage of this basic need. Furthermore, insufficient knowledge of farming is another facade of the cause. For example, farmers follow the steps of farming as they were performed many years back in the history. Traditional techniques are ineffective on changing weather and degrading soil quality which tend to not produce crops as it did for several years in the past.Hence, overall production is not reaching up to that level.

Nevertheless, There are plethora solutions which could cease the problem. Firstly, Genetic engineering is the main solution to grow the plants faster. In other words, this scientific technique combines essential genes of the plants and nourish them in artificially maintained conditions so that they can grow faster. Take Panjab as an example, In order to meet the need of wheat crop in the government nation , farmers tried hands on genetically modified crops and within few years they produced wheat more than required. If awareness about this scientific method is spread worldwide then food demand can be overcome by supplying abundant amount of food. Secondly, government at international level can pass an amendment for subsidies. This is because, farmers who are aided by government can use resources more effectively and channelize the energy towards production and taking care of farms. As a result,ratio of demand and supply of food can diminish and basic need will not be a concern in future

To put it in a nutshell, growing population along with poor knowledge of farming practices are the key reasons behind increasing demand of food, Yet it can be solved by adopting advanced practices. Government support farmers with monitory help and work collaboratively with other nations to alleviate the gap between demand and supply.