Developments in science and technology have caused environmental problems. Some people think that a simpler way of life will protect the environment, while others believe that science and technology can solve environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is said that science and technology are the culprit for environmental issues and hence people should lead a simpler way of life with less usage of sci-tech products to protect the environment. Whereas others hold that it is science and technology that can solve environmental problems. I cannot accept with the former and concur with the latter as I think that the goods sci-tech does outweighs the harms it does.

On the one hand, since the advent of science and technology and the production of more advanced equipments or devices, some serious issues do arise. To illustrate, since the Industrial Revolution when steam engines and vehicles were invented, there have been a drastically enormous increase in the amount of carbon dioxide and exhaust fumes released into the atmosphere causing severe air pollution. Until nowadays, global warming as a result of vehicle emissions and air conditioning is still bringing about global concern. Therefore, some advocate for an idyllic or energy-saving lifestyle where usage of technological products and valuable resources, such as water, is limited. For example, by lessening private transport, humans can alleviate carbon emissions for the sake of saving the planet.

On the other hand, nothing but science and technology may be the most efficient and effective approach when it comes to addressing environmental issues. With science being the guiding principle and technology being the ideally pragmatic practice, energy conservation could be performed well and ecological degradation could be mitigated. One clear example is the electric cars, which is manufactured by state-of-the-art technology, and is highly functional and environmentally-friendly. Without burning fossil fuels, they emit no greenhouse gases into the air. What is more, they are rechargeable, smoother and quieter to drive. Besides electric cars, there are still countless eco-friendly technological inventions, namely solar panels, wind energy, hydropower, dishwashers, et cetera.

In conclusion, I really appreciate the up-to-date products brought by the cutting-edge technology that can be a timely rain amid today's environmental crisis. Living an austere, simpler life could only save the energy, and is a passive mode of environmental protection. While using sci-tech products to surmount the obstacles is the more active way for protecting Mother Earth.