Developments in science and technology have caused environmental problems Some people think that a simpler way of life will protect the environment while others believe that science and technology can solve environmental problems Discuss both views and gi

While some people state that an austere life will enhance the condition of the environment, others claim that scientific and technological developments can alleviate the environmental issues. This essay agrees that the advancements in science and technology can tackle the environmental problems.

On the one hand, it is believed that a simple lifestyle with the less use of sophisticated technology could reduce negative effects of the environmental issues. To begin with, decreasing the use of high-tech equipment, which consumes electricity, could develop a friendly lifestyle. For example, the emissions, which mostly stem from advanced technology such as electronic devices, could be controlled if people limit the use of electricity-consuming devices. Furthermore, simplifying people's lives could diminish the productions. To be more specific, waste from products would be reduced when people minimize their life by purchasing less products. According to a recent study, Tuvalu is one the most cleanest countries, since having an uncomplicated life by reducing the consumption of waste to almost 0%. It seems to many people that having a simple life could strengthen the environmental conditions.

On the other hand, I side with those who state that the advent of science and technology play a crucial role in environmental protection. Firstly, technology can be used to generate the renewable energy. For instance, wind, solar energy and wave power can be developed to curb the consumption of non-renewable resources by the advancements in technology. As a result, it is not necessary to rely on non-renewable materials, and people can generate electricity without damaging to the environment. Secondly, thanks to the improvements in science and technology, people are able to invent biodegradable materials. Biodegradable products take a few months to decompose fully without being harmful to the environment. To illustrate, many environmental organizations have invented biodegraded products such as straw, cutlery and gloves, which reduces the problem of waste disposal. As a consequence, biodegradable materials will not contribute to the environment issues.

In conclusion, while it is true that technology has impacted significantly on the environment. However, I believe that technological advancements can alleviate the environmental problems. Moreover, the enhancements in science and technology will not only create renewable energy but also reduce waste without influencing negatively the environment.