Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar which causes many health problems Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar Do you agree or disagree

Many people claim that processed food and drink products impact harmfully on people's health. Thus, it is suggested that government should impose higher prices on products which contain high level of sugar to prevent people from consuming excessively sugar. I totally agree with this statement because imposing higher prices on these products could help people to avoid health problems and change consumer behavior.

To begin with, levying higher prices on products highest in sugar could prevent consumers from diseases. To be more specific, consuming sugary products in a long time could lead to many chronic diseases such as obesity and heart disease. For example, 50% of American adults are obese due to consuming excessively a huge amount of sugary products and has been major problem that the US population are coping with. As a result, If the prices of processed food and drink products were not reduced, chronic diseases would increase significantly.

Furthermore, taxing higher costs on sugary products could change behavior of consumers in purchasing foods with highest in sugar. In more detail, by charging higher costs on sugary products, people would tend to purchase wholesome products that it is beneficial for their health. A recent study showed that the number of Japanese people who are obese has reduced dramatically to 5% of the population by imposing high taxes on sugar-containing products and most Japanese people prefer wholesome food to sugary goods. Consequently, by raising the prices of sugary products, customers would be encouraged to change their purchases and buy inexpensive food which might be healthier.

In conclusion sugar-containing food and drink products could contribute greatly to many health problems. Raising costs of sugary products not only curb people from chronic disease but also change consumer behavior.