Developments in technology have brought various environmental problems. Some believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a large body of evidence suggesting that technological advances have harmed the environment in various ways. Given this, some people propose that we should lead simpler lives to preserve the Earth. However, I agree with those saying that only developments in technology could solve those problems.

Granted, one might argue that only by changing our lifestyles, we could affect positive changes to the environment. This is predicated on the assumption that when we cut down on electricity consumption, for example from using air conditioners or heaters, there would be much fewer greenhouse gases being released into the surrounding atmosphere, which, by extension, could slow down the current rate of global warming. In addition, if farmers did not rely on artificial fertilizers, but instead used domestic animals’ manure for crops, they could avoid using toxic chemical substances that impoverish the soil and penetrate water resources, posing grave threats to marine creatures. This clearly renders that when we gravitate towards simpler lives, a lot of environmental problems could be tackled.

While this is true to a certain extent, I firmly believe that these issues can be better addressed with advancements in technology. A clear example of this is that thanks to technological developments, humans can take advantage of renewable energy sources such as solar, wind and tidal to generate electricity for household use. This can reduce the demand for energy, and at the same time, eliminate the need for fossil fuels, which can reduce the number of emissions given off into the atmosphere. In addition, with the help of modern techniques, scientists have successfully produced bio-fertilizers that do not only have no negative impact on ecosystems but also provide supplementary nutrients for plant growth to increase crop yields. This clearly renders that technology lies at the core of solving environmental issues.

To conclude, although there are some reasons to say that we should have simpler lives for the sake of the environment, my view is that it would be a wiser choice to develop more advanced technologies to resolve existing environmental problems.