Developments in technology have brought various environmental problems. Some

believe that people need to live simpler lives to solve environmental problems. Others, however, believe technology is the way to solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In this day and age, modern technology has played an indispensable role in people's lives; however, it has some detrimental effects on the environment. It is argued that by living a green life, humans can deal with environmental degradation while others believed that technology may imitate this problem. From my perspective, I concur with the latter mindset due to several compelling reasons.

On the one hand, it is conspicuous that adopting a simple life without depending too much on cutting-edge technology does a favor for the environment in terms of emitting fewer emissions and saving a myriad of energy. First, should humans use bicycles or public transportations on a daily basis, they will restrict the toxic fumes which are released into the atmosphere. To be more specific, some means of transport such as cars, motorbikes, and planes had been posing a huge threat to the environment by a wide amount of carbon dioxide discharged every day, which can contribute to global warming and climate change. Take the Co-vid 19 situations last year, humans were curtailed going out, facilitating fewer private vehicles on the road resulting ozone layer recovered than ever. Furthermore, cutting down the usage of household devices, and this will maintain human resources. Using some facilities such as television or air conditioning when necessary, results in a decrease in the demand for fossil fuels.

On the other hand, thanks to numerous useful technologies, people can protect the environment in more efficient ways. To begin with, the application of renewable resources into daily life has not only saved energy but also benefits for atmosphere. State-of-the-art technologies create a lot of eco-friendly transports and household devices powered by alternative energy sources without causing greenhouse gas emissions. Besides, some scientists have invented various equipment which is able to address tons of rubbish and dirty water released every hour. Instead of throwing this waste into the ocean, applying waste treatment technologies which are wholly beneficial for the environment. For instance, a modern wastewater treatment machine is placed in every factory in Vietnam which can refine contaminated substances before emitting them into the surroundings.

To sum up, although simpler lives are able to alleviate environmental problems, I think that people might utilize modern technology to deal with this imperative issue.