Different types of robots are being invented which are good friends to humankind and can help them with work and at home Is this a positive or negative development Vietnam 2021 04 24

Recently robotic research has been prevalent all over the world, grabbing much attention of scientists who are adept in this field. A wide range of robots is now designed to aid people in their work and on the daily basis. Despite the many disadvantages that may derive from this arrangement, it is felt that robotic development is predominantly advantageous to human beings. This will be proven by looking at how they can be friends with humans and can help them at work and home.

For one, robots can pretend partly human in some communication activities. Consequently, humans, especially the elderly, can benefit from that. For example, after retiring, the older persons feel somehow lonely when their children work all day long and do not spend time communicating with them at all. These robots are designed to make them feel happier and play as intimate friends of them. Talking and sharing are demonstrated as ways to escape loneliness, thereby enhancing the mental health of human beings and diminishing the prospect of suffering mental disorders such as depression, etc…Thus, owning a robot at home is advantageous for people who are likely to feel lonely.

In addition to this, robots also contribute to reducing the workload in workplaces or at home as well. For example, a robot designed by Japanese engineers could travel around the house to do a wide range of odd jobs, lightening the burden on housewives. Moreover, robots are effective tools for labor-intensive works, curb the time needed for producing due to the high productivity and automation they possess. As this story illustrates, the advantages of robotic development are numerous.

To conclude, despite the disadvantage of the fact that robots will replace a certain number of people in the job market, rendering them unemployed, the existence of many robots has many more merits than drawbacks. It is thus hoped that robots can accompany people in some other challenging tasks in the foreseen future.