Disadvantages and advantages of having only one child. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that adults are likely to have only one child due to some restrictions on giving birth policy. This essay will argue that the disadvantages of this phenomenon are eclipsed by the advantages involved.

It is undeniable that having only one child can be disadvantageous to a certain extent. Chief among these is that children could be selfish when they become more mature. The reason for this is having only one child prevents children from learning how to share or to be tolerant which they would learn from having siblings. For instance, parents might teach their children to be tolerant and to behave well after they came into a fight with their brother or sister in order to make them kind people in the future. Furthermore, this phenomenon may cause some stresses or depressions of children as they do not have anyone who is like-minded to them to share their opinions, given that their parents could not understand them in all cases. Therefore, by having only one child, parents could lead to some negative impacts on their child.

Nevertheless, I believe that this development can offer some benefits that could far outweigh the aforementioned disadvantage. Regarding the first advantage, a child can be fully developed and looked after by their parents. This is because parents may guide a child more sufficiently than parents having two or three children do. Additionally, young parents can also be beneficial from this phenomenon. Given that the price of education is so enormously expensive that the affordability of it can sometimes be impossible when they have more than a child. Thus, having only one child not only brings about advantages to the children’s progress but also helps parents save a great deal of money for their retirement.

In conclusion, having only one child can have several drawbacks. However, this phenomenon produces some positive impacts which are of greater significance.